top of page

Tourism pros honoured

The cast of creatives at Pink Duck Publishing celebrated with the best of Cayman’s tourism industry professionals at the prestigious annual Cayman Stingray Tourism Awards earlier this month.

The glittering awards ceremony was held at The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman. Organised by the Cayman Islands Tourism Association, The Stingray Tourism Awards are now in their 15th year and recognise those involved in the tourism industry. Winners each received coveted hand-blown glass stingray trophies.

This year’s lifetime achievement award went to Nancy Easterbrook of Divetech for her contributions to the diving industry.

“I was blessed to be a part of a Cayman family and a world-wide family of divers,” Nancy said in a video at the event. “I met so many people who are just incredible, who shared knowledge and adventures and guided and supported me over the years. It is them, my amazing staff and my incredible loving family that I must thank for this honour.”

Andrew Ebanks of Islandlife Watersports received the rising star award for excellence. He said that winning the award has given him a great sense of accomplishment.

“Being able to work in the tourism and hospitality industry in the Cayman Islands everyday gives me a sense of pride,” Andrew said. “I hope this achievement can help encourage many others to continue to add value to our island guests.”

William Chisholm from Cayman Turtle Centre received the employee of the year award for the Allied/Attractions category. He said he was honoured to receive such a prestigious award and that he aims to help educate people about conservation and the small changes they can make.

Crystal Marshall of The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman scooped the coveted restaurant manager of the year award. “I’m very lucky to be surrounded by an amazing team of outstanding individuals and to be able to do what I do every day on the platform that The Ritz-Carlton provides,” she said.

CITA also took a moment this year to recognise individuals that do not fall within the standard Stingray categories.

The association has recently committed to serve as Business Watch Coordinator for its members in partnership with the Royal Cayman Islands Police Service. Officer Jonathan Kern was acknowledged at the awards for taking a lead role in this initiative, while Officer Fabian Connor was also specially acknowledged for “bringing smiles to visitors” while promoting safety along the George Town waterfront.

This year’s winners were:


Manager – Trudy Veers – Cayman Brac Beach Resort

Employee – Adriana Airinei – The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman


Manager – Ned Jerris Miller – Cayman Turtle Centre

Employee – William Chisholm – Cayman Turtle Centre


Manager – Crystal Marshall – The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman

Employee – Denise Solomon – Marriott


Manager – Sharon Maher – Reef Divers Ltd.

Employee – Danile Dixon – Go Pro & Seasports Diving

Diamond Award

Garfield Ebanks – Marriott

Rising Star Award

Andrew Ebanks – Islandlife Watersports

Lifetime Achievement Award

Nancy Easterbrook – Divetech

bottom of page